Week in Review: May 14, 2022

Highlights include the Access Dataverse Connector *finally* reaching General Availability, the public release of 3 DevCon videos, and another big Access bug.

Week in Review: May 14, 2022

The Week in Review is the best way to keep up with the latest and greatest from the world of Microsoft Access.  Every Saturday, I publish links from around the web.  If you find or publish content that you think should be included, email me at mike at nolongerset dot com, tag me on Twitter @nolongerset, or tag me on LinkedIn Mike Wolfe.  I retain full editorial control of what appears here.  There are no paid or affiliate links, only high quality Microsoft Access content.

Click the "Subscribe" button above to receive this weekly update–along with links to my other daily articles–in your inbox every Sunday morning.


Just Published

This section includes videos, articles, and interesting discussions from the past 7 days.

Articles

Discussions

Videos


New to Me

This section includes content I discovered this week that has been around for awhile.


Upcoming Access User Group Events

NOTE: Only English-language user group meetings with scheduled guest speakers or topics are listed.  For a complete list of upcoming events, visit the Access User Group event calendar.

  • May 19, 2022: Kevin Bell - AppLauncher (a new Access front-end deployment service)
  • June 1, 2022: Alan Cossey - Standard Module Object Generation
  • June 2, 2022: Crystal Long - Drawing the Periodic Table of Chemical Elements with an Access Report
  • June 16, 2022: Karl Donaubauer - Design Patterns with Access
  • July 6, 2022: Mike Wolfe - Building Ribbon Interfaces in Code
  • August 3, 2022: Peter Cole - Automating 32-bit to 64-bit VBA Conversion
  • September 7, 2022: Colin Riddington - Optimizing Queries and the Use of JETSHOWPLAN
  • October 5, 2022: Alessandro Grimaldi - Graphical Interfaces in Access
  • November 2, 2022: George Hepworth - Power Apps for Access Developers
  • December 7, 2022: Alexsander Wojtasz - Interactive Gantt Chart Scheduler in Access

Access Roadmap

No changes from last week.

Listed below is a snapshot of the official Access Roadmap.

  • MAR 2022: Access Dataverse Connector
  • MAR 2022: New Microsoft Graph Data Connector
  • MAY 2022: Inconsistent Database Error Fix ("Monster Bug")
  • SEP 2022:New (Modern) Web Browser Control (to support Chromium Edge)
  • SEP 2022: Enabling Large Address Aware (LAA) for 32-Bit Access
  • DEC 2022: SQL Monaco Editor

Keep in mind, at the 2022 Access DevCon, Michael Aldridge from Microsoft gave an update on the Access Roadmap and warned that it would soon change to show only items that the team has 90% confidence that they will be able to deliver.

Long story short, everything from the above list except for the Dataverse Connector will be disappearing when the Access team updates the official roadmap (that apparently hasn't happened yet).  

The items that disappear off the roadmap will be shown in priority order on an official Microsoft blog post.  When that happens, I will update my Week in Review to include both the official Access Roadmap and the evolving list of priorities.